Retired Ohio State Football Numbers

Here are all the retired Ohio State football jersey numbers and the dates in which they were retired. Ohio State has since announced there will not be any additional numbers retired. Hence the reason #10 has not been retired for the only Heisman Trophy winner not to have his number retired, Troy Smith.
#45 Archie Griffin (10/30/99)
#31 Vic Janowicz (9/23/00)
#40 Howard “Hopalong” Cassady (11/18/00)
#22 Leslie “Les” Horvath (10/6/01)
#27 Eddie George (11/10/01)
#47 “Chic” Harley (10/30/04)
WH Woody Hayes (9/10/05)
#99 Bill Willis (11/03/07)


OSU Football Tradition 103 – Buckeye Grove

Founded in 1934, Buckeye Grove is in honor of all the first team All-Americans. Each player that has won that honor recieves a Buckeye tree planted in the grove in their honor which includes a plaque along the walking path, with their name and honorary winning year.

The grove was originally located on the east side of the stadium, but was moved to the rear corner as part of the expansion renovation in 2001. There are over 125 players in the grove. Each year that there are new players they are added during a pre-game ceremony prior to to the annual spring game.

Here is a list of all of

Ohio State’s 1st Team All Americans:

1914 Boyd Cherry
1916 Chic Harley
Robert Karch
1917 Charles Bolen
Harold Courtney
Chic Harley
Kelley VanDyne
1918 Clarence MacDonald
1919 Chic Harley
Gaylord Stinchcomb
1920 Iolas Huffman
Gaylord Stinchcomb
1921 Iolas Huffman
Cyril Myers
1923 Harry Workman
1924 Harold Cunningham
1925 Edwin Hess
1926 Edwin Hess
Martin Karow
Leo Raskowski
1927 Leo Raskowski
1928 Wesley Fesler
1929 Wesley Fesler
1930 Wesley Fesler
Lew Hinchman
1931 Carl Cramer
Lew Hinchman
1932 Joseph Gailus
Sid Gillman
Lew Hinchman
Ted Rosequist
1933 Joseph Gailus
1934 Regis Monahan
Merle Wendt
1935 Gomer Jones
Merle Wendt
1936 Charles Hamrick
Inwood Smith
Merle Wendt
1937 Carl Kaplanoff
Jim McDonald
Ralph Wolf
Gust Zarnas
1939 Vic Marino
Esco Sarkkinen
Donald Scott
1940 Donald Scott
1942 Robert Shaw
Charles Csuri
Lindell Houston
Paul Sarringhaus
Gene Fekete
1943 Bill Willis
1944 Les Horvath
Jack Dugger
Bill Willis
William Hackett
1945 Warren Amling
Ollie Cline
Russell Thomas
1946 Warren Amling
Cecil Souders
1950 Victor Janowicz
Robert Momsen
Robert McCullough
1952 Mike Takacs
1954 Dean Dugger
Howard Cassady
Jim Reichenbach
1955 Howard Cassady
Jim Parker
1956 Jim Parker
1957 Aurealius Thomas
1958 James Houston
Jim Marshall
Bob White
1959 Jim Houston
1960 Bob Ferguson
1961 Bob Ferguson
1964 Jim Davidson
Ike Kelley
Arnie Chonko
1965 Douglas Van Horn
Ike Kelley
1966 Ray Pryor
1968 David Foley
Rufus Mayes
1969 Jim Stillwagon
Rex Kern
Jim Otis
Ted Provost
Jack Tatum
1970 Jim Stillwagon
John Brockington
Jack Tatum
Mike Sensibaugh
Tim Anderson
Jan White
1971 Tom DeLeone
1972 John Hicks
Randy Gradishar
1973 John Hicks
Randy Gradishar
Archie Griffin
Van Ness DeCree
1974 Archie Griffin
Van Ness DeCree
Kurt Schumacher
Pete Cusick
Steve Myers
Neal Colzie
Tom Skladany
1975 Archie Griffin
Ted Smith
Tim Fox
Tom Skladany
1976 Bob Brudzinski
Chris Ward
Tom Skladany
1977 Chris Ward
Aaron Brown
Tom Cousineau
Ray Griffin
1978 Tom Cousineau
1979 Ken Fritz
Art Schlichter
1982 Marcus Marek
1984 James Lachey
Keith Byars
1985 Thomas Johnson
1986 Cris Carter
Chris Spielman
1987 Chris Spielman
Tom Tupa
1988 Jeff Uhlenhake
1991 Steve Tovar
1992 Steve Tovar
1993 Korey Stringer
Dan Wilkinson
1994 Korey Stringer
1995 Eddie George
Terry Glenn
Orlando Pace
Mike Vrabel
1996 Orlando Pace
Shawn Springs
Mike Vrabel
1997 Andy Katzenmoyer
Rob Murphy
Antoine Winfield
1998 David Boston
Damon Moore
Rob Murphy
Antoine Winfield
1999 Na’il Diggs
2000 Mike Doss
2001 LeCharles Bentley
Mike Doss
2002 Mike Doss
Andy Groom
Mike Nugent
Matt Wilhelm
2003 Will Allen
Will Smith
2004 A.J. Hawk
Mike Nugent
Ted Ginn Jr.
2005 A.J. Hawk
2006 Troy Smith
Quinn Pitcock
James Laurinaitis
James Laurinaitis

#4 Was Taken from Small

I was wondering why Ray Small was wearing #82 this season. I found this Article explaining why:
“There’s nothing figurative about Ray Small’s fall from grace — he wears it on his back.
As part of his punishment for a mystery transgression, the Ohio State receiver this spring was stripped of his No. 4 and given No. 82.

That hurts, much more than the physical conditioning Small has been forced to endure while his teammates have practiced the past few weeks.

“That would be hard,” teammate Brian Robiskie said. “You definitely wear your number with a lot of pride.”

It’s a very visible and public humiliation, almost akin to being put in the stocks in the town square in colonial times.

And it’s only the latest in a series of disappointments — some his fault, some not — suffered by Small, who came to Ohio State in 2006 with tremendous promise.

In hindsight, maybe Cleveland Glenville coach Ted Ginn Sr. was premature when he called Small “the best receiver I ever coached.” You might recall that Ginn’s son, Ted Jr., was a pretty fair receiver, and the comparison has haunted Small more than it has helped.

Small worked his way slowly into a crowded receivers picture in 2006 before suffering a concussion late that season. He then was disappointed to be relegated to the scout team in practice leading up to the national championship game.

In the days before that game, defensive lineman David Patterson raved about Small’s work simulating Florida sensation Percy Harvin.

“You guys mark my words … Ray Small is going to be the next great one at Ohio State,” Patterson said.

Last season, Small sat out the first two games because of a high ankle sprain, then had a serviceable year as the team’s No. 3 receiver. He had a touchdown catch of 48 yards against Northwestern and a 60-yard catch to set up a score against Penn State.

But he was disappointing as the lead returner on both punts and kickoffs.

Now entering his junior season, Small is in coach Jim Tressel’s doghouse. Tressel would not say why. Small has not been made available for interviews.

In the jersey scrimmage Saturday, Small rolled an ankle and hobbled off the field.

Receiver Brian Hartline said he is impressed that Small has not made a bad situation worse; that he’s keeping his head down and working hard.

“I give him credit. He knows he screwed up, but he’s doing what he has to do to get back,” Hartline said.

On Small losing his number, Hartline said: “It would definitely be tough. Your first reaction is probably the same reaction he had, but then after you’ve got to ask yourself, ‘Why are they doing it?’

“It’s not like they’re picking on you, so either they want to get you going for a reason — they know you’re good, but they want to get you going — or they need to get you motivated.”

Clearly, the coaching staff is starting to lose patience. The jersey penalty was a sign that they’re switching from the carrot to the stick.

“I think he has really just scratched the surface,” receivers coach Darrell Hazell said. “I think his potential could be through the roof, but that’s yet to be seen. He’s been here for three years, and hopefully he can tap into it.””