Retired Ohio State Football Numbers

Here are all the retired Ohio State football jersey numbers and the dates in which they were retired. Ohio State has since announced there will not be any additional numbers retired. Hence the reason #10 has not been retired for the only Heisman Trophy winner not to have his number retired, Troy Smith.
#45 Archie Griffin (10/30/99)
#31 Vic Janowicz (9/23/00)
#40 Howard “Hopalong” Cassady (11/18/00)
#22 Leslie “Les” Horvath (10/6/01)
#27 Eddie George (11/10/01)
#47 “Chic” Harley (10/30/04)
WH Woody Hayes (9/10/05)
#99 Bill Willis (11/03/07)


Ohio State Heisman #1 – Les Horvath – 1944

I want to give you some inside on all of the Ohio State Heisman Trophy winners. Especially the pioneers, everyone knows about Archie, Eddie & Troy. I will start with the first winner, Leslie Horvath.

  • Les is from Cleveland
  • He lettered in football in 1940, 1941, 1942 and 1944.
  • Went to dental school in 1943 and was not eligible for football, per college football’s rule of losing eligibility after graduation.
  • In 1944 the rules changed due to shortage of players due to World War II and head coach Carroll Widdoes asked Horvath to join the team again even though he was in Grad school. He came back as a tailback in the single wing formation and QB in the T formation.
  • In 1944 Ohio State went 9-0, won the Big Ten and ranked No. 2 in the country. Horvath rushed for 905 yards and passed for 345. He was second in the nation in rushing, he was unanimous All-America and Most Valuable Player in the Big Ten.
  • Heisman season stats: RUSHING-163 times for 924 yards, 5.7 yards per carry. PASSING-completed 14 of 32 passes for six touchdown and 344 yards.
  • Joined the Navy from 1945-1947.
  • Played three years of pro football, 1947-49 with both the Rams and the Browns.
  • After football, he moved to Los Angeles and started his dentist practice.
  • He died November 14, 1995 at age 74.