Retired Ohio State Football Numbers

Here are all the retired Ohio State football jersey numbers and the dates in which they were retired. Ohio State has since announced there will not be any additional numbers retired. Hence the reason #10 has not been retired for the only Heisman Trophy winner not to have his number retired, Troy Smith.
#45 Archie Griffin (10/30/99)
#31 Vic Janowicz (9/23/00)
#40 Howard “Hopalong” Cassady (11/18/00)
#22 Leslie “Les” Horvath (10/6/01)
#27 Eddie George (11/10/01)
#47 “Chic” Harley (10/30/04)
WH Woody Hayes (9/10/05)
#99 Bill Willis (11/03/07)


Ohio State Heisman #2 – Vic Janowicz – 1950

Here is my second entry in the Heisman Trophy series. I hope I can instill some Buckeye Pride by maybe teaching some of you about the deep tradition and history of the Ohio State Football team. Please feel to comment.

  • Played tailback, quarterback and kicker. Also, played safety on defense.
  • Holds the Big Ten record for extra points in a single game (10).
  • Also holds the Big Ten single game record of 21 punts for 685 yards.
  • Kicked 27 yard field goal in the famous 1950 “Snow Bowl” vs Michigan.
  • Played baseball for the Pittsburgh Pirates for 2 years after college.
  • Went back to football in 1954, signing with the Washington Redskins.
  • Pro career ended when he was in a near fatal accident that left him unconscious for a 30 day period.
  • Member of the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame.
  • Died February of 1996.